Reviews provided by previous customers

Below are some reviews we've received. 
Visit here to see the original customer reviews.

Traveller's Reviews

Great New Years Break
★ ★ ★ ★ 

Lovely holiday home with lots of character and charm. Ideal for large groups and special occasions. Very peaceful location in the middle of great countryside. The house was spacious, clean and well maintained. Owner communicated with us throughout the booking and was very helpful. Even in very cold temperatures the house was and comfortable. 
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again.
Excellent value for money !

Date of arrival
29 December 2016


"Excellent location and property"



★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Reviewed 18th August 2016

La Demeure was an excellent property for a all 3 generations on our family holiday. Teenagers found plenty to entertain themselves with in the play barn and pool and grandparents enjoyed the quiet garden with both sun and shade. The en-suite bathrooms in all rooms were a real bonus- hot water and high water pressure. The accommodation was clean (when we arrived): and as described.
Falaise is an excellent local town - great butchers, fish shop, wine merchants, and an excellent chocolatier. Enough in the town to be interesting and but not too large with good access to Caen, and the coast. Overall and excellent spot to see most of Normandy from.
Having a great bakers in walking instance was another winner.

After my nervousness booking on the holidayrentals site we got an excellent property in a great location.


"Brilliant"

Reviewed 9th July 2016
Had a thoroughly good week owners are very helpful property is very good stayed in Gite Martin. My daughter is disabled the gite was perfect for her to get around my granddaughter love it would certainly stay there again.If I have one thing to be disappointed about it would be wish we could have stayed longer.We would thoroughly recommend 


Reviewed 11th June 2016 
This group of guests left a simple note and we were so uplifted we felt it should join our other reviews.
Perfect customers and even left the cottage in immaculate condition. It helps to remind us why we love doing this.














"Amazing Hosts in lovely location"

Reviewed 4th August 2015
We were delayed by problems at the tunnel and Robin had made sure that we had a good welcome and the basics in the fridge. The children made good use of all the facilities and we managed to barbecue even though it rained.

We all loved the animals, particularly the cat who adopted us for the duration of our stay.
Unfortunately, we had an emergency when we were there and my dad had to be admitted to hospital in Falaise. Robin and his wife were amazing, they summoned the ambulance, helped translate, and Robin, who is an ex firefighter stayed with us until the ambulance took dad to hospital. 
Despite the poor weather and the difficult circumstances of our visit, i wholeheartedly recommend these gites for a family holiday. If you are anxious about medical needs and need the reassurance of a sympathetic and supportive host, you could not do better than Robin and his family.
We took both Gite Fournil and Gite Martin as we were a group of 11 with my disabled father.


"Relaxing Normandy Farmstead with great Playbarn"

Reviewed 1st August 2015

It was everything we expected of an old farm in Normandy, rustic, quiet and relaxing. Yes it was at the end of a very bumpy track, some of the buildings were barely standing up and the facilities were basic but I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. The owners were friendly and really helpful. My 3 year old would happily have spent our entire stay in the play barn except for the odd dip in the pool. We arrived on Bastille Day and went to watch the fireworks in the local town of Falaise on the owner's advise, it was amazing, using William the Conqueror's castle as a backdrop. The castle is well worth a visit in daylight too. The farm is ideally situated for the Normandy beaches too. So all in all a great stay, especially relaxing after 3 days at Disney!

"New Year Visit"

Reviewed 10th January 2015

House was wonderful, for both adults and children, the scale of the rooms was entertainment enough, but the play barn terrific, even in winter. The owners were un-fussy, left well alone unless asked, and combined with William the Conqueror's Falaise castle, the clam and mussel beaches, and the odd Camembert farm, it was superb. (visited with 14 family members 27.12.14 to 3.01.15)  . 

"Place, people, perfect"

Reviewed 21st May 2014

Ten oldies gathering from around the world to relive happy times singing together almost 50 years ago proved a challenging venue search but this place proved ideal. The 5 en suites were utilised to the full (it's an age thing!) and reached the cleanliness standards expected by some seasoned world-wide travellers - as did the rest of the property. The area provided many excellent excursion options of course but it was the ambiance of la Hamberie than most impressed. The kitchen especially had the French feel we sought and the friendliness and helpfulness of Robin and family added to the sense of it being a 'home' for a while. Surprisingly perhaps the play barn was used too - we all seemed to remember being top table-tennis players in our time - but the boules were more our pace now. We would recommend the property to anyone, certainly not just oldies. As an aside: There is a super little shop a few hundred yards away in the village with an excellent home bakery section - do not miss this! Thanks again Robin, well done for making the place and our time there such a success. 

"An ideal place to spend a holiday with friends."

Reviewed 21st May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a most enjoyable week's break at La Hamberie. We were meeting up with old friends from our college days some 50 years ago. Our friends came from Australia. the UK and France. Our common link was singing! La Demeure was an ideal base for our group of 10, made up of five married couples in five en-suite bedrooms. The large dining area was also perfect, not only for eating purposes, but also for singing! We could then relocate in the sizeable living room and happily continue. Despite some inclement weather at the beginning of the week, things gradually improved until we could have a great BBQ in the back garden. The poor weather didn't stop our getting out and about to the various places of interest nearby. Falaise itself has much to commend it. Owner, Robin, could not have been more obliging and friendly. Any problem was dealt with instantly. I would certainly not hesitate in recommending this property to one and all. 

"A Beautiful Place"

Reviewed 21st April 2014

We arrived late afternoon on Monday feeling very tired but the moment we got there our spirits were lifted with how beautiful the place was and how relaxing it felt. We had our 85 year old disabled mum with us and our accommodation was ideal for her with nice wide doors to get the wheelchair through. This carried on throughout the gite , for all her comforts. Robin and his family were lovely the pets are a lovely addition to the holiday as well (we wanted to bring the dogs home with us ) The whole holiday was perfect  THANKYOU 
.

"A fantastic property in Normandy"

Reviewed 12th November 2013
This is the second time we have stayed in this lovely large farmhouse. We returned there after two years because we were so impressed the first time. Yet again, we were not disappointed. It was clean and well appointed, with a lovely typical french feel to it. Robin (the owner) had added a 2nd fridge freezer and a hostess trolley to the kitchen, which made our cooking arrangements even better!! There is plenty of room for everyone (we were 11 adults and 1 teenager), and we all benefitted from an ensuite in each room. That's a real plus when you holiday as a group, as we've found out. Robin and his wife were extremely helpful every time we had a query. He even presented us with some wine to sample. Our group has holidayed together for 17 years, and as the organiser of these jaunts, I can honestly say that this is the best property we have stayed at. Never before this one, have we ever returned to the same one twice. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Thanks robin and family. You may see us again!!! From the welsh/English/German friends.

 "A great place for a relaxing fun family holiday" 
Reviewed 12th September 2013

What a wonderful place, what wonderful people - a truly memorable holiday. 
Everything you need from the accommodation, family friendly pool and well equipped games barn. Sleepy, quiet and relaxing, but with plenty to do for the children. There is a very pleasant private garden at the back, where you can dine alfresco and cook on the BBQ. 
All the Gites surround a central "village" green which serves as a point of focus for everybody and makes for a very friendly atmosphere. People wander out with a glass of wine for a chat about the day's events, and exchange ideas about places to see, places to go.
 Our four children spent a lot of time on the green, playing with new friends, including the farm pets - which were a huge hit and loved to chase a ball. 
The owners (Robin and Mel) really couldn't do enough. I was even loaned a small telescope to take advantage of the stunningly beautiful dark skies - if you're an astronomer, you just have to take the telescope (i've not seen anything quite like it for some time). 
A good location for activities with plenty to do all within an hour drive. A day Kayaking at Pont D'Ouilly is an absolute must. All the Normandy beaches are easily accessible. Bayeaux is also a real highlight, and not to be overlooked, Falaise itself, birthplace of William the Conqueror and home to a wonderful Chateaux (iPAD tour for the kids). I would definitely recommend this place, and we will be returning sometime soon. 

“Very friendly, helpful and welcoming”
Reviewed 9th September 2013
Very friendly family and are there if you need them. Lovely place with plenty to do in a safe environment for your kids. Would definitely visit again.

“Fantastic accommodation for any wheelchair using traveller”
Reviewed 9th September 2013

Just returned from a stay at Hamberie with 4 wheelchair users as part of a group. The accommodation is superb, very spacious and easy access for chair users. The grounds are accessible too. Specific equipment was easily organised for us prior to our arrival by the manager so there was no need to worry about carting masses of equipment with us. The grounds are safe and lovely and we made full use of the pool and games barn and are wheelchair user accessible too. Great accommodation.


"Family holiday - good time had by all" 

Reviewed August 23, 2013
We arranged for 8 of our family (one wheelchair based) to all stay in Gite Fournil. It was clean and tidy and offered good space for us all. The little glitches with kitchen equipment were sorted quickly and we had a very comfortable stay. All the teenagers enjoyed the pool and play barn (tabletennis was a great favourite) and alfresoc dining in the private garden on a sunny evening was lovely. Robin and his wife could not have helped more. We would love to come back again and explore the area further. Falaise and the surrounding areas offer much to do and are all relatively close by - Honfleur is a must to visit! Would recommend to anyone for a relaxing break. 

“Idyllic setting for a relaxing holiday!"
Reviewed August 11, 2013
We have just returned from a fantastic week's holiday in very beautiful surroundings. Domaine de la Hamberie is the perfect location for a peaceful and relaxing break. Robin and his family made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They have created a wonderful and friendly location which suits a wide range of holiday needs and will certainly appeal to all ages. Our gite was well equipped and very comfortable; ideal for our family of four. Although there were a full compliment of guests staying at the time of our visit; it felt in no way busy and there was plenty of privacy and space to relax. Our teenage boys made the most of the heated pool, table tennis and basketball hoop and also had room to set up an impromptu cricket square. Definitely more than enough to keep them occupied whilst we were able relax with our books taking in the idyllic surroundings. There is also much to explore in the local area; Falaise is only a short drive and being the birthplace of William the Conqueror, has lots of history on offer. It also has some lovely shops and great restaurants. The D Day beaches are fairly close by, as is the beautiful town of Bayeux. An absolutely wonderful holiday- we will definitely be returning to Domaine de la Hamberie!

“Great week in Gite Demure"
Reviewed August 5, 2013
We had a great time here, nice house, great facilities and ideal for those with a young family (Ours are 6 and 3). Its 4 hours from Calais but less than an an hour from Caen, the beaches, zoo, small fishing towns and great countryside. The pool is a real bonus as it's solar-heated and you can easily get out of the midday sun and spend a couple of hours reading whilst keeping one eye on the kids playing in the play barn. Highly recommended.

"Great holiday - peace and relaxation”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday here and enjoyed every minute of it. The gite was lovely - spacious and had a large private garden. It was so peaceful and the children ( aged 2-4) had a great time between the animals, pool and play barn. Robin was so helpful and you felt you could ask anything and nothing was too much of a bother. We learned this early on when an hour after meeting we got a flat tyre and he rescued us and also brought us to the shop to pick up a few things. It was close enough to Caen a large city and the town of Falaise but also able to enjoy the lovely countryside. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great holiday with kids or simply just somewhere to switch off and enjoy.

“Rustic charm - ideal for families with children”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hidden away is this rural idyll, with friendly and helpful owners on site - non intrusive but nothing is too much trouble if you ask. The main farmhouse which we rented (Gite la Demeure) had tonnes of space...ideal for holidaying with extended family or friends. With 5 bathrooms for 6 bedrooms, there was no waiting for showers etc. 

Our 3 year old loved it....lots of animals on the farm...dogs, cats, guinea pigs and cows in the neighbouring field. Also the owners children are adorable, friendly and played nicely with him. The play barn which is on site is fantastic...the adults enjoyed chilling with a book, playing table tennis and table football, whilst our son loved playing with a huge range of toys in there. 

Outdoors there is plenty of space to play football, rounders, cricket etc. swimming pool is good size, although could have been warmer.

The gite itself had a rustic charm with original stone flooring etc but with most of the modern conveniences you would expect. The kitchen was well equipped, and with our own private, enclosed garden we enjoyed the BBQ provided and felt happy knowing our toddler was safe.

Owner was fantastic, resolving any little problems quickly. Useful to have bilingual owners on site, and they will even bring fresh bread and croissants to your door each morning if you order the night before! 

Location is great...only 30 mins from Caen, less than one hour to WW2 and D Day memorials, so very accessible. Would definitely recommend, esp for families with children.

A place to come back to
4 of 5 starsReviewed March 7, 2013 

We first visited La Hamberie in 2009 staying in La Fournil (the old bakery). At the time our children were 11, 5 & 2. The gite was clean, comfortable and spacious and there was plenty to do on site, from the swimming pool (safely fenced off), huge playbarn with it's toys and books galore and all the animals. It is also a place just to kick back, relax and at night - stargaze!
The owners Melanie & Robin are fantastic & go out of their way to help (such as the time we locked our keys in the car on a Sunday!)
The site is located just outside Falaise, a town familiar to those with an interest in history - the castle being the birthplace of William The Conqueror and the towns role during the D-day landings and battles. It is about an hours drive upto the closer D-day beaches but if you turn inland there are still plently of things to do such as the horse stud and pretty 'alpine' villages.
We visited again in 2010, 2011, 2012 (with our last baby!) and, guess what, we are going again this year! I think that sums it up!

An ideal place to stay with family and friends
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a superb ten day holiday in two of the gites at La Hamberie. It was an ideal place to stay for a mixed aged group party. Even though it was winter the huge barn proved a very popular venue for inter family table tennis tournaments. It was also extremely well stocked with books and games for children and adults and a great place for younger children to play in poor weather. Both gites were well heated and very spacious. The dining table in the larger gite seated all fourteen of us very comfortably. 
The owners were very helpful and informative and made us feel at home immediately.
The village and well stocked epicerie were a short walk away and the fascinating town of Falaise a five minute drive. A beautiful and historically rich area to explore.
I will have no hesitation in recommending Domaine de la Hamberie to my friends.

more than we hoped for...
5 of 5 starsReviewed October 16, 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Domaine de la Hamberie exceeded our expectations for an intimate, yet large party venue for my husband's 60th birthday party.
We were 38, many arriving on Friday evening and others arriving on Saturday for the actual party.
We rented all five gites and even though it could accommodate several more than our group, we limited it for comfort..
The French family/friends and American guests unanimously recommend Domaine de la Hamberie for a very French experience in Normandy and all would return in a heartbeat.
It is truly a French gite experience and very positive!
We are still getting compliments on the accomodations

Fantastic relaxing venue for adults but with plenty to keep all ages active and interested.
5 of 5 starsReviewed September 10, 2012

Good clean accommodation that is suitable for all ages. Each gite has its own private garden. Robin and Melanie have a personal touch, meeting you on arrival and making sure that everything is in place. Nothing is too much trouble and after 4 stays here we are returning again. There is a swimming pool a large communal grass area for football and badminton, a large barn with lots of books of all genres, space for young children to play safely, 2 table tennis tables and table football. Plenty to do in the surrounding area even if it rains.

Sunny skies, beautiful location and lovely people
5 of 5 starsReviewed September 9, 2012

The gites are beautifully kept and a perfect size so they don't feel too big or too small. Domaine de la Hamberie also has the luxury of a pool which although isn't terribly warm it's perfect for a quick swim and sun bathe in the beautiful sunny Calvados weather. Melanie and Rob are lovely and their ability to speak both french and english is very useful when you need help visiting the wealth of locations just around the corner. With only a 10 minute drive into Falaise, with William the Conquerer's castle and only about a 40 minute drive to Caen full of history and brilliant shopping, you've got lots do do during your stay. There's also lots of sporting activities very close whether it's tree adventures, cycling or even para gliding! Truly a great place to stay surrounded by beautiful countryside and fabulous people!